Closer work experience: Day 2

Again, although it was a struggle to wake up, I had my all amazing human alarms; my cousin’s Jackson and Riley which came in really handy as neither of them had a snooze button.

Day two was a lot more exciting. Firstly, Ashley and I spent some time typing up the credits for the outfits that were being used for the weeks ‘pastel’ shoot which were hung up in the fashion cupboard. Pastel is one of my favorite trends – so I loved being involved with the shoot, as well as having a few browses through the clothes rail.

photo 5(7)

As Closer has at least one or two work experience girls every week, it was obvious that I would have to be involved in some not-so-glamerous tasks. I was sent on my travels to Carnaby Street, to get the Editor Kat (who was leaving on Friday for maternity leave) a gift from the Cowshed. However, I wasn’t complaining as Carnaby Street is one of my faves! As I didn’t have much time in the week to explore London, I took full advantage of my trip to Carnaby Street and took these snaps along the way.

PicMonkey Collage

Closer magazine has a weekly section of ‘tried and tested’ where they test out different samples of products either called in by the magazine, or sent in by different companies. This week it was nail polish removers, (which wasn’t the best product to test seeing as my nails were just done with shellac) so the girls and I took a tester each home to test and then review. Mine was Barry M’s nail corrector pen. As my nails were coloured red this week, I found that the remover wasn’t great with the darker colors as it tended to smudge into your fingers. However, when being used with a lighter color this little corrector pen proved to work a treat.

photo(81)

After a busy couple of hours, I was super excited for lunch. When ever in London, I always love to try new food places, but this new one was by far one of the best. Let me tell you, if you haven’t already been to this place – then you MUST go. All hail Five Guys fast food restaurant. This American style restaurant has THE greasiest burgers, the most amazing salty chips and possibly every drink option available. Writing about it is actually making my stomach rumble – and once you’re there, the worry about the heart attack it may give you in years to come will all be forgotten about in an instant.

photo 4(15)

When returning back to the office, the stairs seemed the more appropriate option as I was able to burn off the masses of calories I had just gained. I took a quick trip to the mail room to collect the most recent deliveries – which I will discuss in my next few posts – and headed back to my next job.

Next I had to make a few phone calls to PR companies regarding their Interiors page. When phoning Dulux PR and saying ‘Hi this is Daisy from Closer’ (AHH!) I felt like I could instantly fit in. I was able to choose a pastel pink color which would be used for the spread, and completed the full credits of the products on the page, before I handed over the proof to be checked.

Apart from now realizing how HOT the fashion cupboard actually is, (and therefore having to reconsider my perfectly planned outfit arrangements for the week) day two had been a great day. I had to go back to my aunties to plan my route for day three, as ANNOYINGLY, there was a tube strike for the next 2 days.

Outfit of the day for day two:

photo 1(30)

Topshop checked satin top: 35?

Topshop Ankle grazer Baxter jeans: £38

Necklace: a friends from New Look.

Topshop Aubrey3’s: £78

Leave a comment