Grazia, day one…

So, I have recently just got back to Oxford from my two week Grazia magazine internship! All in all I had an amazing time learning about the company, meeting new people and just generally being in London alone, as it’s one of my favourite places. I have SO much to say about the last two weeks but here’s my attempt at breaking it all down to a readable amount of writing…

 

As I had been to Endeavour House before for my Closer work experience, it was handy to already know where to head in the morning and how much time to allow myself. So just like then, I sat in the Bauer Media reception and waited for the beauty and web co-ordinator, Tor.

I briefly met the beauty team: Tor, Liz, Rose and another intern Jasmine, and was also very much delighted to have my own desk with them all. To get started, I got familiar with my new surroundings and got logged onto my email account that I would be using for the next two weeks.

photo 5 (13)

My first day mostly consisted of getting to know how the beauty team works – in terms of phone calls, calling in and sending back products and dealing with a LOT of emailing to PR companies.

I spent the most part of the morning calling in and arranging products for the ‘beauty charts’ section that is featured within Grazia magazine, which included a majority of skincare products. It was pretty cool to have the high-end branded packages being sent to my name, along with ‘Grazia’…

photo 2 (11)

Coincidentally, a mutual friend from Southampton was interning on the fashion side of Grazia, so we exchanged numbers and arranged a day for lunch. It was nice to have somebody there that I knew, although was also completely random at the same time!

Of course, my first day back in Covent Garden only meant one thing: Urban Outfitters on my lunch break. Although I was on a budget whilst in London (or trying to be) I managed to sway myself into buying a pair of shorts – which didn’t need much ‘swaying’ in all honesty.

photo 2 (10)

My excuse: ‘I have a holiday in two weeks!’

Urban Outfitters – £35.

I was also introduced to the one and only beauty cupboard. (And I thought Closer’s was good – Grazia’s was something else!) MAC here, Chanel there, Tom  Ford to your left and Jo Malone to your right – I was in awe for a good while. It didn’t take long to learn about the different compartments for different products- which became handy when needing information about products for different features in the week to come.

photo 4 (16)

photo 5 (14)

So I spent the most part of the first day receiving everything for Tor’s beauty chart; calling in products, receiving the full credits and press releases from the PR companies as well as of course dribbling over the beauty cupboard. I was so grateful to be apart of a lovely team of girls and was excited for what my second day had in store….

When I got back to my boyfriends around 7pm after a long day, I was so happy to smell the gravy from his cooking as I walked in the door, with dinner already served up for me. (I was also looking forward to seeing how long this would last!) Nonetheless – he won himself some brownie points!

photo 3 (14)

OOTD for day one:

photo 2 (12)

Blouse: Topshop – £42

Folk Skirt: Topshop – £36

Globe Necklace: Urban Outfitters.

Leave a comment