Closer work experience – Day 5

Day 5! My last day at Closer – although I had enjoyed my week, I was excited to go home and dig into the pile of coursework I had waiting for me (not!)

I was delighted to take the normal route to work this morning, as I had to lug around my suitcase that weighted the equivalent to an elephant. I had a lot of frustrating stares from passengers on the tube – does it look like I want to be squashed in-between you and the uncomfortably close man next to me whilst trying to keep this case up right, either?

I got to work slightly earlier – which was good so I could make up slightly for the late starts during the tube strikes. Again, as it was the end of the week there wasn’t many important jobs that needed doing. I had to return and exchange some clothes from H&M and Cos that were used for a shoot, so Ashley and I took an extra hour for our lunch break to Oxford Circus. Accidentally, of course, we fell into Topshop, and just so happened to buy one of their amazing frozen yoghurts.

Image

After taking slightly longer than we had anticipated as I started to feel a bit like Andy from The Devil Wears Prada, we rushed back to finish our last day at Closer.

Before ending the day, we made sure every piece of clothing was from the fashion cupboard was sent back to the PR companies and lastly filed away all of the magazines from previous months. I stumbled across this shrine-like banner in the office from all of the magazine covers, which I thought made an awesome feature to the wall. Image

Before leaving, I went into the Heat offices to thank my friend Jo who had made this week possible and also organized my two week placement at Grazia this summer. I handed her a huge bottle of prosecco from M&S and a card, and had a quick chat about the industry. It was interesting to meet some of the journalists on her desk and hear about the stories of how they ended up in their current position. The amount of times I have heard how competitive the journalism and fashion industry is, is endless. I’ve realized that EVERY industry is the same and without determination and basically a heart that is wholly committed to the career you’re aiming to work in, of course nothing is possible. There is also that sense of luck, and the perfect chances coming along at the right time, but if you are truly engrossed and focused then your aims will become achievable.

I gave those who I worked with at Closer a thank you card and received a goody bag in return – the wishing for even just one product from the beauty cupboard paid off in the end.

Image

Hannah, Ashley and I went for a quick drink at All Bar One before heading off in three different directions: Oxford for me, Chester for Ashley and Hannah back to Aberdeen. Even though I was looking forward to a night at home in my own bed, I knew that I probably wouldn’t see these girls again for a long time no matter how much we said we would ‘stay in touch.’ However, I knew that I would hear their names again somewhere down my career path as both of them were clever and determined girls.

Image

I had learned a lot from this week at Closer. Although I didn’t get to learn as much as I wanted in terms of what each of the girls on the desks do, being in the environment for the week helped me realize that this was defiantly the career I want to pursue. Hopefully in years to come, my hard work, blogging and writing for local newspapers will earn me Fashion Editors position at Vogue, and I will be the one dealing with work experience girls currently in my position… Well, or at least my PA will.

Outfit of the day:

Image

Floral lace dress – Zara – £29.99?

White T bar pumps – Topshop – £32

Leave a comment